CU’s Make NY Times Blog

I’d like to send kudos out to Nancy Folbre, an economics professor at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

She recently posted in the NY Times blog, Are Credit Unions Superheroes?

Check it out for yourself here: http://tinyurl.com/ladky4

Along those lines, you know I’ve always said, that credit unions are the best kept secret in America. And of course, given our current economic state, I’m not sure why more people in the media aren’t shining a bigger, bolder spotlight on credit unions. This is our time to shine.

We’re often asked the difference between banks and credit unions-and of course-it’s in the details. As a CU member, you can own your credit union. Do you own your bank? With talks of bailouts and mergers and stockholders, it’s nice to see that Professor Folbre took the time to give credit unions a second look and I hope more people do too.

For a fun, cool way to get to know the difference between banks and credit unions, I’m not sure that anyone said it better than larissawalkiw who was the original spokester for Young Free Alberta.com at Servus CU in Canada.  Take a look at her clip here, part one of her three part series:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cawzTSVTP2M

Discover the difference for yourself.

Have a great week!

-Al

2 Responses

  1. Hi Al! This is amazing – I’m showing your blog to the fine folks of the Louisiana CU League, and you refer to a professor at UMass/Amherst, which is where my parents taught. Rock on!

    • Hello Morriss-

      Well, I guess you could say, it’s a small world after all. I’m only giving credit where credit is due … it was a great post for credit unions! When great articles, posts, even tweets appear in the mainstream media, I like to share them with folks, to let them know that the word is getting out about America’s Best Kept Secret. That’s a challenge that all CU’s face, each and every day. I certainly appreciate you showcasing our blog at the league. I’m also proud to say that it’s coming up on our two year anniversary.

      And I’d be remiss, if I didn’t say kudos to you and the fine staff at Everything CU.com for all the hard work you do for credit unions and the movement, each and everyday.

      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

