On the Ball Update

Well, well, well… It’s me, Cammie Morrow, and I thought I’d take this opportunity to update everyone on  my ball as an office chair experience. I’m actually sitting on the ball, right now. It’s been a little over a month and I think it actually works. But let’s backtrack a bit.

Okay, so I brought the first ball in and it was too small, I was sitting really low. So, I bought another ball. As if I didn’t get ridiculed enough, right? Nah, my fellow coworkers still get a chuckle, but you’d be surprised how many of them actually want to sit on the ball themselves. I’m serious. I may look silly sure, but it’s actually been a very fun experiment.

After the first two days, man, was I sore. I could feel it  in my stomach and my legs. The ball is hard work. Trust me. I think from that aspect, it does take some work, because you’re sitting straighter, your controlling the ball with your legs to sit still and any slight movements, you can feel your stomach muscles working.  That being said, what’s the verdict on it replacing a gym, right?

Well, it isn’t cardio or weight training, but I do think the ball is effective. I definitely feel better about myself at the end of the day, being on the ball then not on the ball. When I go home on weekends and come back, I tend to be a bit sore on Mondays.  But do I think it’s as hardworking as a gym? No.  I will say that it’s a great way to get some toning in while your at the office. Plus, it’s really comfortable on my back.

Believe it or not, in the past month, I’ve had NO ball mishaps, I haven’t rolled or fallen off the ball. But sometimes, I even hop on it like a hippty-hop, remember those? I’m dating myself here. But it sure makes my work day more fun. From the comments, smiles and coworkers, shaking there heads, it’s made somewhat of an impact. Some have even gone home and sat on a ball watching t.v. or playing video games, like my husband. When I came home and shared with him what I was doing, he tried it and found he was actually sore too.

So I would say, overall this experiment is a success. It won’t replace your gym but it will help with toning your abs and lower body while your sitting at your desk all day. I even had some vendors catch on to the idea and they went out and bought balls too! I also saw a story on FOX news about schools that have tried the balls for ansy kids.

My best advice, for only $10-$20 a ball, don’t knock it, until you try it, get on the ball! I’m going to stay on mine a little longer to see if I get even better results. Plus, I just love to see people smile as they walk by my office.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

