A Fresh Approach to Banking

So often,  when I tell people I work at a credit union, they say, “oh yeah, I always wanted to join one of those,” Why haven’t you? I ask. And the answer always seems to be the same. They didn’t know they were eligible to be a member. But yes, you CAN! When I share this with folks in Licking County, they seem to get that a-ha moment.

So I thought I’d take some time this week to separate some of the but’s from the facts.

1. But I thought I could only belong if you work for a certain company?

Answer:

Once upon a time, that may have been true, but NOT at Hopewell Federal. We’re community chartered. So if you live, work or worship in Licking County you can be a member! 

2. But I thought credit unions weren’t regulated like banks?

 Answer:
Yes we are. We follow similar regulations and sometimes, we have even more restrictions than banks in the types of investments and loans they can offer.

3. But I thought you have to pay a membership fee to join?

Answer:

No membership fee is required, but we do ask that you keep a minimum of $25 in your share savings account.

And we offer the same FREE services that banks do. You can get FREE on-line banking, FREE e-statements and FREE bill pay at Hopewell Federal with NO STRINGS ATTACHED! You can even get FREE checking-But, maybe you’ve heard that before too-

I say, if you’re tired of fees and tired of not talking with someone local, why not join a credit union?  We’re here, in your neighborhood and we’d love to have you as a member. If you are currently one of our members, I thank you for your membership. And, I would encourage you to tell your friends and neighbors about us. And if you just happened to cross our path via the world wide web and don’t live in the area… Check out the credit unions in your neighborhood and compare them with your current financial institution. Stop in and see what they have to offer. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised at what you’ll find.

Try a fresh approach to banking, visit your local credit union.  

3 Responses

  1. […] hopewellfederal07 wrote a fantastic post today on “A Fresh Approach to Banking”Here’s ONLY a quick extractSo often, when I tell people I work at a credit union, they say, “oh yeah, I always wanted to join one of those,” Why haven’t you? I ask. And the answer always seems to be the same. They didn’t know they were eligible to be a member. … […]

  2. Thanks so much for your support-

    -Al

  3. Most credit unions give better service as well. The mind-set is different. Every member is an owner, instead of an account.

Leave a Reply

